DS 28: ConnectiCon Tour


Digital Strips : Show 28 [16.3mb]
This week our show is recorded during ConnectiCon. ConnectiCon is the largest multi-genre convention in New England and it Features the genres of anime, gaming, web-comics, science-fiction, fantasy and more. We met a lot of really great people while at the Con and had a good time over all.What you’re going to hear in this show is a “sound seeing tour”. I had a headset on connected to my video camera in my bag and I recorded the show with Daku as we walked through the main convention room floor. You’ll hear us describing the event as we saw it including the web comic artist tables and some conversations we had with them. This is the first time we’ve ever tried to do something like this, so be sure to let us know if you liked it or not. We may be able to shows like this from other Cons in the future.During the tour we found tables for these web comics. They are listed in the order we came across them during the tour:

  • Least I Could Do : leasticoulddo.com
  • Mine’s Bigger : minesbigger.novablade.com
  • Partially Clips : partiallyclips.com
  • Fragile Gravity : fragilegravity.com
  • No 4th Wall To Break : no4thwall.com
  • Staccato : staccatocomic.com
  • Fallen : fallencomic.com
  • Instant Classic : iccomics.com
  • Apple Geeks : applegeeks.com
  • VG Cats : vgcats.com
  • Ctrl Alt Del : ctrlaltdel-online.com
  • Comedity : comedity.com
  • The Devil’s Panties : thedevilspanties.keenspace.com
  • Dominic Deegan : dominic-deegan.com
  • Surliness : surliness.com
  • Paradox Lost : paradox-lost.com
  • Ded End : dedend.keenspace.com
  • And Then You Die : andthenyoudie.net
  • Chugworth Academy : chugworth.com
  • Daze and a Haze : dazehaze.keenspace.com
  • Mac Hall : machall.com
  • This week’s contest entry:

    [ Click the image to see it full size ] Entry sent in by : Matthew JContestant Web Site : Teh Matthew J
    Share

    7 thoughts on “DS 28: ConnectiCon Tour

    1. it was a good show, but maybe next time you could carry an extra microphone so we can hear the other creators as your doing the walk through

    2. ouch. that was the most painful digital strip podcast, ever. no focus. horrible sound. maybe you guys should have staked out interviews with creators you now had a chance to meet. retailors are boring. cant wait for next weeks cast.

    3. I\’m not sure you\’re getting the point to this type of show. We\’re giving a first hand audio account of what it was like to wander around the ConnectiCon show floor with all the ambient sounds of the con included to give it a sense of place.

      Rest assured, we got several personal interviews with comic creators afterwards that we will be posting over the coming weeks in between review shows. That just wasn\’t what this episode in particular was about.

    4. I liked the show. It felt like I was in the thick of things at the con. As I said earlier it would of been nice to have an extra micorphone on hand so Daku could throw in his two sense, or to give to a creator as you stopped by to say \’hi\’

    5. I think you\’re right. For this show I was using a headset, so the mic was pretty much attached to my head. Maybe we should invest in getting a handheld mic so I can point it to either Daku or the other creators. We\’ll try that next time.

    6. Just listened to 28 – it was hugely entertaining! I really felt like I was there. Yknow, I felt like I could see all the costumes and everything. Probably my fave show ever.

      Even the people who were off-mic, they were still recorded and I could hear all the off-the-cuff conversations in full (admittedly my hearing is top-rated) including the ones you were then paraphrasing on-mic, and I was drawing while listening.. I accept not everyone\’d be able to hear everything but I think in the circumstances this show was as good as it could possibly be. Awesome.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *